Sherlock Holmes – Week 6

This past week I viewed Sherlock Holmes which I had missed in theaters earlier in the year. I had wanted to see this film for quite a while but never had gotten around to doing so. I was very excited once I began to watch it because it looked very good and I like historical movies that are not just fiction. I would say this movie delivers just that. The scenery and sets that were designed for this film have great detail to illustrate the time period and feel of this film. The was a sort of darkness to the shots and also the subject matter, which dealt with black magic. I think there was a sufficient amount of action for this type of film. There were some really good fight scenes which were enhanced by a unique description of each hit, kick or slap narrated by Sherlock (Robert Downey Jr). This showed the audience how precise and smart the character of Sherlock was. Throughout the film I found myself in amazement of how brilliant and quick Sherlock was to pick up on small details and his ability to read people was outstanding. This made it very interesting and put Sherlock on a pedestal of hero status. Going back to the look of the film I thought it worked really well. When ever I think of London back at the turn of the century, I envision a gloomy, rainy and dirty place. This was definitely the feeling I got from watching this film. There was also the sense of mystery and adventure within the story which made this landscape appealing. I found the story to be very intertwining. It followed several characters and their goals and obstacles along the way. I thought the direction and story flow followed this very well and there was a good job of intertwining these charters together. I also like how the film ended leading into a possible sequel. This I think added  to the story and makes the audience wanting more.

Leave a comment